You have the option to bill clients for overage as it occurs. Instead of adding all overage to the client's next monthly bill, overage can be charged the day of their overage booking. In this article we will show you two different options for changing your overage billing.
Want to know more about how overage billing works? Learn the basics in our Overage Billing Overview.
Option 1: How to Update a Current Plan to Charge After Each Overage Booking
You can update overage settings on an existing billing plan, which will update how overage is billed immediately for all clients assigned to that plan.
To make this change, edit each billing plan to bill overage ‘After each overage booking.’
What to expect:
If no overages have been accumulated yet: Clients will start being billed when new overage bookings occur, charging them at midnight following the overage booking.
If overages have already been accumulated: Past overage bookings will be charged automatically in one lump sum charge. Then, any future overage bookings would charge the same day.
Option 2: How to Create a New Billing Plan
You can also plan ahead and create a new billing plan with updated overage settings. If you want the flexibility to set different overage billing methods for different clients or are wanting to create monthly minimum plans, this is a good option.
Here’s how:
Create a new billing plan in Kitchen Settings > Plans.
Select ‘After each overage booking’ for the overage billing option.
Update each client's billing plan in their client profile.
If planning ahead, select your new billing plan as Next Month’s Billing Plan which will take effect next month.
If updating now, select your new billing plan as Current Billing Plan which will take affect immediately.
⚠️ Important: If changing the Current Billing Plan, any overage already accumulated will be billed automatically in one lump sum charge.
Still have specific questions about overage billing? Check out our Overage FAQ or contact Support for personalized help.


